About Bellona

Bellona is a 9-1/2 year old Cane Corso. We got her as a puppy at 10 weeks old. At that time she was already 22 lbs (October 2001). Bellona came from Castleguard Cane Corso in CO. Bellona got to fly on a plane to get home.

Bellona was our first dog and together we learned about how to be good pet parents and took Puppy obedience classes. We even got Bellona before we got married.

At about 10 months old we noticed a “click” when Bellona would sit. A trip to the vet and after X-rays we found her left hip required surgery.

Bellona had TPO surgery (Summer 2002) and recovered perfectly and quickly. We even had to sedate her since she wanted to walk, run and pull on leash instead of resting.

The breeder gave us Caesar at no charge due to Bellona’s hip problems (October 2002). At 8 weeks old Caesar was 22 lbs.

Bellona Wasn’t sure what to do with a puppy in the house but got over her angst and accepted him.

A year later our family grew again (late winter 2003). Sassy a shortie Jack Russell came into our life. Sassy was a tiny puppy that was surrendered to my friend Erin that does rescue. Again with another puppy in the house Bellona took it in stride even though she wasn’t the only female dog anymore. At least Sassy is the most mellow jack you’ll ever meet.

Another year goes by and we decided to get another Jack Russell. Dash is a crazy boy and probably requires his own blog too. Dash after a few years developed epilepsy. Too this day, I think Dash has racked up more vet bills than the other dogs or possibly even combined. The best way to describe Dash is CRAZY. A good diet proves wonders and he’s been seizure-free for a 1-1/2 years since changing his diet to raw (Stella & Chewy’s Duck, Duck, Goose).

As adult dogs Bellona runs circles around Caesar. You’d never imagine she had hip surgery if you didn’t notice her faint scar.

I’m sure Bellona will heal just fine from amputation. It will be another faint scar under her fur.

2 Responses to About Bellona

  1. shari says:

    Where are you at? I’m thinking you may be really close to me and we should have our own meeting someday, with a 2-headed, 6-legged dog. Or 2 tripawds.

    I’m in the hills between Boulder and Nederland. About 20 minutes from either.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *